Managing your personal information
How to change your email preferences
If you want to give or withdraw your consent to receive emails, you can visit Email Preferences or do the following steps:
Log in to your account at www.overleaf.com
Click Account > Account Settings in the bottom left
Scroll down to Email Preferences
Check the box to subscribe:
Newsletter - Every few months we send a newsletter.
Notifications on project activity - Notifications for project activity such as comments, replies, and track changes
You will still receive important emails, such as project invites and security notifications (password resets, account linking, etc).
How to download your information
You can download a copy of all of your Overleaf projects at any time as follows:
Log in to your account at www.overleaf.com
Go to your Projects dashboard via the top right menu
Open each of your projects and download a zip file from the Menu in the top left
This will provide you with a zip file for each project containing all of your content in LaTeX format. You can also download zip files with previous versions of your projects using the History menu.
If you would like to download the latest version of multiple projects, you can also do this from your Projects page by checking the boxes for the projects you would like to download and clicking the download button in the top right. Please see Downloading a project for more detailed information.
How to delete your information
If your Overleaf account is a member of a group subscription with the Managed Accounts feature enabled, you will not be able to delete your account yourself. Please contact your organization’s administrator if you wish to delete your account.
You can delete your Overleaf account, which will result in the deletion of your Overleaf projects and associated personal data, at any time as follows:
Log in to your account at www.overleaf.com
Click Account > Account Settings in the bottom left
Confirm your password if prompted
Click the Delete your account link at the bottom of the Account Settings page
More detailed instructions are available on our Deleting your account page.
Before deleting your account, you may want to download a copy of your Overleaf projects (see How to download your information above) because if you follow the above steps, you won't be able to access them again.
This process will result in the deletion of your Overleaf account and associated personal data, although we’ll keep a record of your request and other information in compliance with applicable law. If you’ve made any of your Overleaf projects public, we’ll also retain a record of your association with that content. Note that it may take some additional time following the deletion of your account for your stuff to be completely deleted from our archives, although it won’t be accessible during this period.
If you have used Writefull via Overleaf, you will also have a separate Writefull account. To delete your Writefull account, please contact support@writefull.com.
Last updated
Was this helpful?