Termination and deletion
Account data belonging to Pro group subscriptions with the managed user feature enabled will be deleted after a set period of time once the subscription has ended.
When a Standard subscription is not renewed, the member accounts associated with the subscription are simply downgraded to the free plan tier. Member accounts of Pro subscriptions that have not enabled user management will also be downgraded if the subscription has ended.
However, activating the user management feature on Pro subscriptions means that, upon termination, the subscription and user accounts will be deleted after a set period of time. The eventual deletion of any remaining account data is required in order to comply with standard expectations for the decommissioning of managed accounts.
Standard group
Member accounts are downgraded and released from the group.
Pro group without managed users
Member accounts are downgraded and released from the group.
Pro group with managed users
Managed user accounts in the group enter into a lapsed state. Any accounts that are not deleted or released by the administrator will be deleted by the system after a set period of time.
Subscription states
When a Pro group with user management enabled has been terminated, either through non-renewal, payment lapse, or admin request, it goes through several states before any remaining account and subscription data is permanently deleted.
active: Normal, healthy subscription. All features enabled.
lapsed (day 0-60 after termination): Triggered automatically upon termination. Paid features are disabled, new member invitations are blocked, and a 60 day countdown to soft-deletion begins.
soft-deleted (day 60-150 after termination): A terminal state where the subscription and its member accounts are effectively removed and scheduled for permanent deletion. A 90 day countdown to permanent deletion begins.
permanent deletion (90 days after soft-deletion). All subscription and remaining member account data has been permanently deleted.
When a subscription is in the active state, all features that are provided and enabled by the subscription administrator are available.
If a subscription is terminated, the subscription will enter into the lapsed state. In the lapsed state, member accounts are still accessible, and the subscription can be recovered and returned to the active state (usually by arranging or making a payment on the subscription).
If not recovered, the subscription and its member accounts will remain in the lapsed state for 60 days. After 60 days the subscription and any remaining member accounts will be soft-deleted.
Once soft-deleted, the subscription and member accounts are not accessible and are effectively removed from the system. However, the data associated with these accounts will not be permanently deleted until 90 days after soft-deletion.
Once permanently deleted no data associated with the subscription or its member accounts is recoverable.

Administrators are advised to follow the secure decommissioning instructions when the subscription is in the active or lapsed state. The secure decommissioning instructions cannot be implemented once a subscription has been soft-deleted.
active
Subscription administrators can follow secure decommissioning instructions.
lapsed
Subscription administrators can follow secure decommissioning instructions.
soft-deleted
No direct access to the subscription is possible, data recovery measures can be requested from Overleaf support.
permanently deleted
Subscription and account data is no longer recoverable
Communication
Administrators and members of a Pro group subscription with user management will receive communication via email and will see notifications on their subscription page when a subscription has lapsed and is progressing towards soft-deletion.
| Subscription event | Email notification | Recommended action |
|---|---|---|
subscription termination (60 days until soft-deletion) | An initial notification that the subscription has lapsed is sent to the subscription admin and members | Take action to renew or extend the subscription, or complete secure decommissioning procedures. Contact Overleaf support with any questions. |
45 days until soft-deletion | An early deletion warning email is sent to the subscription admin and members | |
30 days until soft-deletion | An additional deletion warning email is sent to the subscription admin and members. | |
14 days until soft-deletion | An additional deletion warning email is sent to the subscription admin and members. | |
7 days until soft deletion | An additional deletion warning email is sent to the subscription admin and members. | Take action to renew or extend the subscription, or complete secure decommissioning procedures. Contact Overleaf support to ensure enough time has been allocated for decomissioning. |
1 day until soft deletion | A final deletion warning email is sent to the subscription admin and members. | |
subscription soft-deletion | Confirmation that accounts, projects, and subscription data has been deleted. | Contact Overleaf support to request data recovery within 90 days. |
Subscription recovery
A subscription can be terminated due to non-renewal or non-payment. While in the lapsed state, a subscription can be recovered and returned to the active state after a successful renewal and payment.
A subscription administrator who has questions about or is experiencing issues with subscription recovery should contact Overleaf support.
Subscriptions cannot be automatically recovered once they are soft-deleted. Once permanently deleted, subscriptions and member accounts cannot be restored.
Last updated
Was this helpful?